How I Learned What “Digital Transformation” Truly Means After Waving 👋 To A Couple Gs

John Maeda
4 min readDec 24, 2020
It’s just the difference of two letters, but it’s a whole different universe.

I just finished my class at MIT Sloan on digital transformation. Not teaching it, of course. Taking it.

You see, learning is a passion of mine. And I find that some things are harder to learn than others unless you really get your head in the game, which is especially hard when you have a full-time job. I reasoned that if paying for a gym membership can be a motivator to go to the gym, I needed to locate a paid way to learn WTF “digital transformation” means. I’d come into contact with it via the management consultant world and it was bugging me that I hadn’t found a crisp meaning. So I splurged on an MIT-branded experience on the topic, instead of just watching a few YouTube videos like I usually try to do. Free videos and blog posts weren’t working for some reason.

There are plenty of “digital transformation” haterz who believe that it is a lot of consultant blah-blah-blah, and ultimately a waste of time and money. That depends whether you value the difference between a painkiller (immediate impact) versus a vitamin (possible impact). IMHO digital transformation is definitely a vitamin, and yet a lot of smart people reach for it while knowing that it’s not a painkiller. They have the foresight and…

--

--

John Maeda

John Maeda: Technologist and product experience leader that bridges business, engineering, design via working inclusively. Currently VP Design and A.I. at MSFT.